Advice, I guess

This guy who we’ll call “J” is my best friend. I have really strong feelings for him and he likes me a lot too. I’ve been talking to him and hanging out with him for close to 6 months. We go out a couple times a week, I sleep over at his house, we mess around.
He doesn’t want a girlfriend. :smiley24:
I can deal with that I suppose, but it’s frustrating when we’ve had this kind of relationship for so long and I still have to introduce him as “my friend J” or refer to him as my friend.

It isn’t really a big deal, but I don’t understand why he doesn’t want a relationship, but he wants this.

Some history: he had a 2 year on and off girlfriend about a year ago. He doesn’t even talk to her anymore and hasn’t for close to a year. I don’t see how this could have much to do with it, but the first time I told him how I felt about him, he used her as an excuse.

What do you guys think about this? I’d like anyone’s opinion, but especially a male’s opinion because as a female I may not “know how it is”.

ever hear that saying why buy the cow when you can get the milk for free?

Ah. Yeah. :frowning:

sorry thats just my opinion

Yeah it makes a lot of sense.

unfortunately, i have to agree with audra here. :frowning: many of my friends have given me this same advice. i’ve been in your position a handful of times and it’s never, ever easy. especially when you really like the guy. unfortunately, “messing around” with him can also ruin the friendship too. my advice is, either talk to him about it some more, or cut off all “benefits” he’s currently receiving. it’s not fair to you to get strung along like this when he doesn’t expect it to turn into anything more. i just don’t want to see you get hurt. :frowning:

I want to know what you mean exactly by mess around first before I say my opinion

say it anyway…i love contraversy:24: